Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum

Help Support Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stuartJ

Hi
Im a real newbie have been give a outlander as company car which is great but and its a big but....... I'm clueless first week I've not got over 37mpg I do about 50-60 mile to and from work and can't charge when not at home. Is there a idiots guide please. At present I'm flying with eco mode on and battery is flat in about 15miles Help please Thanks in advance.

:?: :?:

Welcome, and what can I say, I don't know where to start. The best thing you can do is spend a few hours browsing the forum.

I'm sorry today, that sounds about right. I've had my company car since the end of February and am now at 24,000 miles and the only place I can charge at the moment is at the office (when I'm there) with lots of motorway driving when I'm out.

Battery range is massively effected by ambient temperature, so the cold and damp mornings this week haven't helped you at all, but once the battery has gone you're driving an 1800Kg petrol powered brick. All be it a very comfortable, quiet brick with an excellent view over the bonnet!

As has already been said, do invest the time to read the manual which will help you to understand the car. In time you will learn to relax into the driving technique, you right foot will become less leaden, and you might see the mpg hit 40! However, when you go out on 'near home duties' at the week end, you may be able to do the whole lot on electric power and never start the petrol engine beyond the initial start up process, which will help your overall mpg.

In my case, my mpg isn't helped by the fact that I take the view that one doesn't drive a £35,000 car to not have the heating and electric seats on, run the a/c or enjoy the performance (in moderation and only where legal!), but maybe that's just me.

Above all, enjoy it.

Steel188 said: