Factory Outlander PHEV 2.0 air filter element half blanked off?

Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum

Help Support Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
This OEM Mit parts is selling for just $25, believe it or not, plus about $25 shipping. I had 2 sets of these LED lights, one for back up. Do you know how much the dealers in America want for this...like $400 to $500 bucks...a markup of like 2000% for the same OEM parts. My first set of $25 was installed in 2018 & still running good. Cheap doesn't mean it is bad but our greed in America is really bad! The costs to manufacture the same OEM car parts to the same spec in China are about 10% to 25% of that in America, Europe or Japan but the savings are not passed on to consumers here in America.

PS: Being an engineer myself, I know what I am buying.

Attachments

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    145.5 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:
What we are looking here!?
Those two filters are not interchangeable...! Completely different shape.
Please read original post.

Rectangular, blue air filter element is what I've pulled out of the air box of my 2023 Outlander PHEV, and is correct and fits well. I relied on the replacement parts fitment guide at Rockauto.com and input my vehicle year, make, model, etc. The WIX air filter element is what they sent me as a replacement. Doesn't fit, as you noted. I looked at the websites of 4 or 5 different auto parts retailers in my area. All of them specified a part that looks like the (wrong) WIX filter in the photos.

They must all use some universal, subscription-based vehicle fitment guide database, and it's just wrong on this part

I've reached out to rockauto.com and they've been less than accommodating.

I've reached out to a vendor of the only universal vehicle fitment I could find and they didn't even reply.